Email = passé?

I learned in this week’s IMC 619 lesson that 22% of Internet users claim they use social networking sites in lieu of email, indicating they’re turning to instant messaging and text messaging (my personal favorite). This is nearly a quarter of email users that are forgoing this type of communication for more instant gratification.

The chart below shows the the popularity of texting by age group and its growth from 2009 to 2010.

This 22% statistic seemed to be rather shocking at first, but the more I thought about it, I tend to use Facebook messages instead of email if I want to share something personal with a Facebook connection. I use email more for work and only communicate through my personal email with certain people, typically when I want to share a file.  I’m a 25-year-old young professional and if I’m finding myself not using email as frequently as I used to, I can only assume that high-schoolers and college students are using email even less than I.

In fact, some agree that social media will continue to grow and make email a thing of the past because teens don’t care about privacy – this generation doesn’t mind posting personal information on each other’s walls or Tweeting public messages back and forth. Email will still stick around for more professional uses because of its ease and ability to gain leads for business owners.

Finally, my IMC 619 course is wrapping up tomorrow and I am thrilled to say I learned a lot during the past nine weeks. I had never blogged previously and had a blast finding interesting topics to write about each week. Topics associated with emerging media are endless and always changing. This blog has enabled me to research topics that I am passionate about and learn how to be more creative. I hope to continue writing and posting after this course ends.

About nicolehagy

I am a marketing professional living in Northeast Ohio. I enjoy playing tennis, learning new things and traveling.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

